Ulfuls – If I Can Laugh

If I Can Laugh
Original title: 笑えれば (Waraereba)
Music and original words by Tortoise Matsumoto

If at any rate I can laugh, if at the very end I can laugh
If on the lonely road home I can start to laugh

I’ve always had the very same dream since childhood
But it’s now, I’m an adult and I’ve ground to a halt
Even though I believed all was meant to turn out well
Somehow it’s all a rushing, running and uneasy struggle

If at any rate I can laugh, if despite it all I can laugh
If come today’s end I can start to laugh

When I fell in love with you the whole thing changed
With a simple smile you’d cheer me up
No good colliding, no good retreating
When I’m feeling down it’s all right to cry, so that I’ll be able to laugh again

I don’t want to give up, I don’t want to flee
I don’t want to lose sight of myself
Starting to sweat, feeling a fool
I keep falling over

Try as I might
There are feelings I can’t change
Will you stay close and look after
A man like me?

Everyone will have to keep on going
With the thought that they can’t please everyone weighing on their hearts

If at any rate I can laugh, if at the very end I can laugh
If on every day that yields no answers I can start to laugh

If at any rate I can laugh, If at any rate I can laugh…

About Chawupi
Translator from Japanese, Italian and French into English. Blogger. Football fan

Leave a comment